Perusing 45s at a Snail’s Pace

My mother gave me her record collection years ago and it has traversed across this country multiple times. It is always a grand olde time to peruse the kick ass cuts.

After cleaning and organizing for a while I find myself too lazy to convert these little gems to mp3, etc. So enjoy youtube audio clips instead.

The Turtles – “You Baby” (1965, White Whale)

The Grass Roots – “”Where Were You When I Needed You” (1966, Dunhill)

The Association – “Windy” (1967, Warner Bros.)

The Vanilla Fudge – “You Keep Me Hangin’ On” (1967, ATCO)

I wanted to highlight the B-side, “Come By Day Come By Night”, but it wasn’t available anywhere for free. This song is also fantastic.

Neil Diamond – “Long Way Home” (1967, Bang)

The Association – “Along Comes Mary” (1966, Valiant)

The Rolling Stones – “Bitch” (1971, RS/ATCO)

The Beau Brummels – “They’ll Make You Cry” (1965, Autumn)

I love the underlying arrogance of the singer’s near-monotone delivery. I just picture him saying, “That’s my range…deal with it, fuckers.”

Every Mothers’ Son – “Come On Down To My Boat” (1967, MGM)

Knock, knock.

Who’s There?

Pedophile with a conscience.

Pedophile with a conscience who?

The Union Gap – “Young Girl” (1968, Columbia)

The McCoys – “Sorrow” (1966, BANG)

Bobby Goldsboro – “Honey” (1968, United Artists)

The Honeycombs – “Have I The Right” (1964, Interphon)

Buzz Clifford – “Baby Sittin’ Boogie” (1961, Columbia)

Just damn creepy.

Napolean XIV – “They’re Coming To Take Me Ha-Haaa!” (1966, Warner Bros.)

Herman’s Hermits – “No Milk Today” (1966, MGM)

Zager & Evans – “In The Year 2525” (1969, RCA)

Les Crane – “Desiderata” (1972, Warner Bros.)

I would let him finish his entire propaganda poem before I pushed him down the stairs.

The Music Explosion – “I See The Light” (1967, Laurie)

The Kingsmen – “Jolly Green Giant” (1965, Wand)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

