Through Time Zones and Phone Lines a Love is Felt

“What the hell do you want?”

“Oh, baby. I was just listening to Bill Fay and thought of you.”

“What time is it there? 10AM?”

“Yes.”

“God, that’s cute.”

“Fuck you. I hope you choke on your own dick.”

“What?”

“Sorry. I just wanted to call and tell you I love you and I miss you.”

“That’s sweet.”

“I would do it every time I felt it but that would be four times a day.”

I expected a number but the one I heard was surprising. Almost to the point of tears. I couldn’t think of a damned thing to say.

A hungry bird in the dead of winter on the edge of a pile of birdseed – the tummy so small but the need for food so great. A feast will surely kill but a taste will nourish until the last day turns dark. A wink to the sunset and a wave for the closing eyes.

I’d never taken Oasis’ album title “Be Here Now” seriously until that moment.

We said goodbye. She smoked in her hot, Carolinian living room. I hopped on a bus and re-evaluated my attitude.

Comments
No Responses to “Through Time Zones and Phone Lines a Love is Felt”
  1. kate says:

    don’t let my marigolds die

Leave a Reply

